Yogi Berra: A Dead Ball Icon

U1283561INP

Yogi Berra is one of the rarest combinations of things – a Major League Baseball All-Time Great and a Zen Poet/Wordsmith. Not only did Berra win 10 World Series’ with the New York Yankees, he also ‘dropped’ some of the finest lines in all of Sports (or any) discourse. These are the cream of the crop:

A nickel isn’t worth a dime today.

Nobody goes there anymore; it’s too crowded.

It gets late early out there.

If you come to a fork in the road, take it.

If the world was perfect, it wouldn’t be.

In baseball, you don’t know nothing.

It was impossible to get a conversation going, everybody was talking too much.

The future ain’t what it used to be.

You better cut the pizza in four pieces because I’m not hungry enough to eat six.

I made a wrong mistake.

Thanks, you don’t look so hot yourself. – After being told he looked cool.

The other teams could make trouble for us if they win.

You wouldn’t have won if we’d beaten you.

I never blame myself when I’m not hitting. I just blame the bat, and if it keeps up, I change bats. After all, if I know it isn’t my fault that I’m not hitting, how can I get mad at myself?

It ain’t the heat; it’s the humility.

The towels were so thick there I could hardly close my suitcase.

You should always go to other people’s funerals; otherwise, they won’t come to yours.

All pitchers are liars or crybabies.

Half the lies they tell about me aren’t true.

I didn’t really say everything I said.

– Henry

Leave a comment

Filed under Baseball, Dead Ball Icons, MLB

Leave a Reply

