The Machine: or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the LA Lakers

76076011AB007_CELTS_LAKERS

OK, so Dave, Justin and I were chatting NBA Playoffs over the bar the other night, talking about the teams and players we liked and disliked. The usual. Also, earlier in the day Duncan had told me that he had decided that liberated fandom was all well and good, but that a man needed a team for life, a team to rise and fall with, to laugh and cry with, and that he had decided that the Portland Trailblazers would be that team for him.

While none of us went that far, it became somewhat of an issue for the three of us. Who were our favorite teams? When it really came down to it, who would we most want to see succeed this year? Mildly embarrassed I came to the conclusion that when it’s all said and done, the Lakers were my favourite team of the elite bunch. I say embarrassed because it just doesn’t seem okay to like them. It’s almost un-American (not that I’m American but y’know what I mean). And I say elite bunch because I love to watch the Warriors and the Thunder but if you only support fast/high-scoring teams you’re going to be left high and dry for the last two months of every post-season.

Now, there are certain players that I might like more than the Lakers bunch but as a team there’s just something fascinating about them. I like watching every player on that team. Sure, I like watching Lebron like any other red-blooded sports fan, and he is surrounded by a good team this year (duh!), there’s no intrigue for me there. Same with Dwight and the Magic. And don’t even get me started on the Celtics.

Justin seemed equally cautious about his love for the Spurs for all their tradesmanlike non-glory and Dave remained non-committal. Sarah expressed a certain disgust at my choice of the Lakers (but she likes the Rockets *yawn*). I stated my case: What about Odom? What about the weird relationship between Kobe and Gasol? What about a healthy Bymum? Sarah replied: what about Vujacic?

Sasha Vujacic is the blue cheese of the group. An acquired taste. But it’s hard to deny a man who shot 60% from behind the arc in the 2006 playoffs and 44% for 3’s last season. Plus there’s  this. No denying this:

[youtube:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XwTDPvXszhw&feature=channel%5D [youtube:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZHeXmAHr1Sw&annotation_id=annotation_721547&feature=iv%5D [youtube:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6FLgNogO53c&feature=channel%5D [youtube:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6uiI58ZDSiQ&feature=channel%5D [youtube:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YEP0Ag_mV1M&feature=channel%5D

You get the picture. Go Lakers!

– Henry

2 Comments

Filed under Basketball, Fandom, NBA, Playoffs

2 responses to “The Machine: or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the LA Lakers

  1. PNC

    LOL I’d never seen these vids. Vujacic is the captain of my all-lame team. Pachulia and Joakim Noah up in there too.

  2. You got me Henry, these videos have made me love Machine.

    ‘Machine pound chest like Tarzan – Kobe is me Jane’

    Oh but you did see Game 1, Lakers v Rockets, right?!

Leave a Reply

